Crown Wood Primary

Crown Wood
Primary School

Local Governing Body (LGB)

Greenshaw Learning Trust (GLT)

Crown Wood Primary School is an academy within the Greenshaw Learning Trust (GLT). The Greenshaw Learning Trust is a charitable company, limited by guarantee, with the sole purpose of maintaining and developing academy schools to provide comprehensive and inclusive education for the public benefit. The Trust’s governance arrangements and the roles of and delegation to its various elements are described in the Scheme of Delegation for Governance Functions here.

The highest level of governance of the Trust is its Members. The Members established the Trust and take the place of shareholders would have in a commercial company; they act as the ‘guardians’ of the Trust and have an overview of its governance arrangements. The Members appoint Trustees and delegate their powers and duties for the direction and oversight of the Trust to the Board of Trustees.  You can find out more about the Members by going to Meet the Members.

The Greenshaw Learning Trust is governed by its Board of Trustees. The Trustees are the legal governors of the Trust and the directors of the charitable company, and are responsible for the operation and performance of all schools in the Trust.  You can find out a little about the Trustees by going to Meet the Trustees.

Crown Wood Primary School's Local Governing Body (LGB)

The Board of Trustees has established a local governing body (LGB) for Crown Wood Primary School, to which it delegates its powers and functions with regard to the management and performance and oversight of the school.   The LGB is responsible for helping to provide an environment in which a good quality education can be delivered. Those serving as Governors are representatives of stakeholders who have an interest in the school (i.e. The Trust, parents, staff and members of the local community).

Members of the Local Governing Body (LGB)

Chair   Mrs Sian Karamolegkos Trust Governor (08/10/2022)
Vice-Chair  Mr Michael Thompson Parent Governor (31/05/2021)
Mr Gerard Barber Community Governor (08/10/2022)
Ms Hazel Dewey Community Governor (27/03/2022)
  Mr Grant Strudley Headteacher (Ex-officio)
Mr Matthew Smith Staff Governor (07/02/2023)
2 x Vacant Trust Governor
1 x Vacant Parent Governor

Clerk to the Governors:  Dawn Deykin (

Individual governors may also be contacted by e-mailing the school office (

Lead Governors

The LGB does not have standing sub-committees and instead there are 'Lead Governors' who monitor specific aspects of the school's operations.  Currently, these are:

E-Safety / IT Mr Michael Thompson
Finance Vacant - TBA (CoG covering)
High Priorities Mrs Sian Karamolegkos
Literacy Vacant - TBA (CoG covering)
Numeracy Mrs Sian Karamolegkos
Pupil Premium Mr Matt Smith
Safeguarding Vacant - TBA (CoG covering)
Special Educational Needs Mr Gerry Barber
SMSC Mrs Hazel Dewey

 Additional Lead Governor roles will be allocated when new governors are appointed to the LGB.

Further Information

Register of Governors' Interests Record of Attendance Dates of Meetings & Minutes